11.9 C
New York
Monday, January 30, 2023

MVP? See numbers from Jayson Tatum and past winners

Credit: Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

Jayson Tatum and the Boston Celtics had a very good night this Thursday (19). In overtime, they beat the Golden State Warriors and isolated themselves even more in the leadership of the Eastern Conference, with 34-12.

Franchise star alviverde scored 34 points, 19 rebounds (career record) and six assists, in addition to three steals. Despite committing seven turnoverswas fundamental for the victory over the “executioner” of the last final.

The Celtics’ jersey numbers make him a strong contender for the MVP award (Most Valuable Player). In the race list for the award updated by the NBA this Friday (20), the player rose to 2nd position, behind only Nikola Jokic, winner in the past two seasons. The Serbian could become the first athlete named the best player in the league three consecutive times since Larry Bird (1983 to 1986).

It is worth remembering that the MVP election is made by journalists from the specialized press in the United States and Canada (due to the participation of the Toronto Raptors in the NBA). Thus, several aspects are taken into account in addition to individual performance, such as the team’s campaign.

So far, Jayson Tatum has averaged 31.2 points, 8.5 rebounds and 4.3 assists in the season, numbers that qualify him for the best player of the year award. In previous editions, other stars took the trophy with “less flashy” statistics. THE Torcedores.com raised the data of the winners since 2011 for comparison:

2010/2011: Derrick Rose – 25 points, 4.1 rebounds, 7.7 assists

2011/2012: LeBron James – 27.1 points, 7.9 rebounds and 6.2 assists

2012/2013: LeBron James – 26.8 points, 8 rebounds and 7.3 assists

2013/2014: Kevin Durant – 32 points, 7.4 rebounds and 5.5 assists

2014/2015: Stephen Curry – 23.8 points, 4.3 rebounds and 7.7 assists

2015/2016: Stephen Curry – 30.1 points, 5.4 rebounds, 6.7 assists

2016/2017: Russell Westbrook – 31.6 points, 10.7 rebounds, 10.4 assists

2017/2018: James Harden – 30.4 points, 5.4 rebounds, 8.8 assists

2018/2019: Giannis Antetokounmpo – 27.7 points, 12.5 rebounds and 5.9 assists

2019/2020: Giannis Antetokounmpo – 29.5 points, 13.6 rebounds and 5.6 assists

2020/2021: Nikola Jokic – 26.4 points, 10.8 rebounds and 8.3 assists

2021/2022: Nikola Jokic – 27.1 points, 13.8 rebounds and 7.9 assists

In the overall leadership of the championship, the Celtics return to the courts this Saturday (21), at 7 pm, when they visit the Raptors.

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles